Unleash Microsoft PKI

The Microsoft PKI is, together with the true-Xtender Suite from Keyon, a comprehensive solution for the issuance and management of X.509 certificates. We support you in all phases of the organizational and technical integration of the Microsoft PKI.

Microsoft PKI

Based on the Microsoft PKI, X.509 certificates are issued and managed for comprehensive identity and access solutions.

  • Windows smart card logon
  • Certificate-based authentication of mobile devices (SCEP, PKCS#12)
  • Certificate-based 802.1X authentication (EAP-TLS)
  • Certificate-based authentication against systems and web applications / services
  • Electronic signing of documents, applications, and macros
true-Xtender Suite für Microsoft PKI
 

 
 
 

true-Xtender Suite for Microsoft PKI

The true-Xtender Suite from Keyon is a comprehensive collection of modules that extend the features of the Microsoft PKI. All modules are supported on Windows 2012 R2, 2016, and 2019 offer full enterprise functionality. There is no schema extension required.

  • Web-based, multi-tenant registrar, and service APIs
  • Third-party certificate management and automatic registration for public CAs
  • Enforcement of guidelines and control of the entire certificate management
 
 

true-Xtender Policy Module

TX-PMSA

The true-Xtender Policy Module extends the features of Microsoft PKI and allows a rule-based issuance and management of X.509 certificates. The certificate content can be considerably extended or modified. Here are some examples:

  • The individual components of the subject distinguished name (DN) can be defined, taken from the original certificate application, or modified and extended by any rule.
  • X.509 certificate extensions can be randomly removed, adjusted, enhanced, or added. Host specific extensions such as the RACF ID can also be managed with the true-Xtender Policy Module. 
  • Additional user or system attributes can be selected from a directory or database and integrated into the certificate.
 

true-Xtender Registration Authority

RA-WA

true-Xtender Registration Authority Web Application 

The true-Xtender Registration Authority Web Application enables the seamless integration of certificate management into the company’s internal processes and offers next to a browserbased GUI a web service interface for automated processes.

Company specific management processes can be implemented through metadata, which are additionally stored in the registration authority (RA) database. For example, certificates can be mapped to applications, individuals or groups, who will be notified in case of a renewal process, a revocation, or other activities.

An extensive audit log stores every activity of the applicants and the administrators. The permissions for the individual features are controlled via Active Directory groups. The RA stores all data in a Microsoft SQL database. Evaluations and reports can be created using Microsoft SQL Server Reporting Services (SSRS) or Microsoft Power BI. The RA supports different workflows, which can be defined for each certificate type.

 The true-Xtender Registration Authority Web Application provides the following features:

  • simple and advanced search for certificates,
  • issuing certificates based on PKCS#10 files,
  • issuing key pairs and certificates as PKCS#12 files,
  • delivering already issued certificates via different channels (e-mail, web-based download),
  • safety-critical features can be mapped through a workflow management (four-eye-principle),
  • revocation of certificates, and
  • renewal of certificates.

The true-Xtender Registration Authority Web Application is based on Microsoft IIS.

 
 
1
2
3
4
 
 
 
 

RA-ACME+

true-Xtender Registration Authority ACME Service

The true-Xtender Registration Authority ACME Service provides the ACME protocol as a standardized interface for the automated
certificate management.

The RA-ACME Service is integrated into the RA database and its user interface. The RA-ACME Service is implemented as a proxy server architecture, which enables the use of ACME in separate network zones. Several ACME adapters act as a proxy between the enrollment clients and the RA, or the RA-ACME Service. The ACME adapters perform the validation of the domains. The adapters support the ACMEv2 protocol with HTTP validation (according to RFC 8555). Various certificate profiles are supported for different domains by using different endpoints in the service URL of the adapters. The adapters are available for Windows and Linux systems.

 
 

RA-SE-CE+

true-Xtender Registration Authority Reminder Services Add-on

The true-Xtender Registration Authority Reminder Services Add-on is used to monitor and log expiring certificates prior to their expiration. Different reminders can be created to monitor expiration at different intervals, send notification e-mails to certificate recipients, and log expiring certificates into the Windows Application Event Log. Customer-specific monitoring systems can be integrated to monitor and to further process the generated Windows Application Event Log entries.

 
 

RA-WCA+

true-Xtender Registration Authority Web CA Add-on

With the true-Xtender Registration Authority Web CA Add-on all certificate requests of the Microsoft CA can be managed and certificates can be revoked, in particular certificates issued with the auto-enrollment mechanism of the Microsoft CA. As with the true-Xtender RA-WA, the role concept based on AD group memberships can be used to assign different authorizations for managing and revoking certificates.

 
 

RA-WS+

true-Xtender Registration Authority Web Service Add-on

The true-Xtender Registration Authority Web Service Add-on offers extensive REST and / or SOAP interfaces for the automated issuance and management of X.509 certificates. An enrollment client authenticates itself against the web service and receives based on the corresponding AD group membership and the role concept the appropriate permissions for the individual features:

  • issuing certificates based on PKCS#10 files,
  • issuing key pairs and certificates as PKCS#12,
  • obtaining issued certificates,
  • revocation of certificates, and
  • renewal of certificates.
 
 
 

RA-DCOM+

true-Xtender Registration Authority DCOM Add-on

The true-Xtender Registration Authority DCOM Add-on enables as a DCOM interface the crossforest certificate issuance and revocation. For example, in a DMZ only the RA-DCOM Add-on is required instead of a separate Microsoft CA to issue certificates from the corporate CA. In addition, the module serves as a proxy for a Microsoft CA to prevent direct access to the CA for all client systems.

 
 

RA-CM-3RD+

true-Xtender Third-Party Certificate Manager Add-on

The true-Xtender Third Party Certificate Manager Add-on is used to monitor third-party certificates. Multiple notification services can be set up, which will notify a user as soon as a certificate reaches the end of its lifetime. Certificates to be monitored are imported into the RA database via the web GUI or the web service interface. With the upload, additional metadata can be provided, which can then be used in the notifications before the certificates expire. The role concept of the true-Xtender Third Party Certificate Manager Add-on is based on Active Directory user groups.

 
 

TX-AEP

true-Xtender AutoEnroll PKI Proxy

The true-Xtender AutoEnroll PKI Proxy is used between true-Xtender RA and the external web service interface of a public CA. All certificates are managed and monitored with the true-Xtender RA-WA. This allows a uniform cockpit for all internal and public certificates.

 

true-Xtender AutoEnroll PKI

TX-AE

true-Xtender AutoEnroll PKI connects the Microsoft auto-enrollment feature with a public PKI service. This makes it possible to automatically issue and manage in-house certificates, as usual, without having to operate your own Microsoft CA.

Furthermore, the Microsoft PKI auto-enrollment feature can be extended significantly with true-Xtender TX-AE.

  • Auto-enrollment of public certificates. Any public CA with a web service interface can be integrated.
  • Auto-enrollment based renewal of certificates in the case of modifications of user or server attributes.
  • Flexible lifecycle management of user and server certificates.

A comprehensive and intuitive web GUI as well as extensive reporting services make up the cockpit for all certificates used within the company.

Autoenrollment Reports
 

true-Xtender PKI Services

SE-CE-AR

true-Xtender Auto-Revocation Service

The true-Xtender Auto-Revocation Service is the counterpart of Microsoft’s auto-enrollment feature. The true-Xtender Auto-Revocation Service revokes a certificate as soon as its associated computer or user object is deleted in AD. It also revokes duplicate certificates, i.e. certificates of the same type issued to the same subject DN.

The threshold value of the number of certificates to be revoked can be configured to prevent unintentional revocation in case of AD structure changes (e.g. moving users to a different OU). All actions of the service are recorded in the Windows Application Event Log.

true-Xtender Standalone Certificate Expiration Service

The true-Xtender Standalone Certificate Expiration Service checks periodically whether certificates expire within a certain time. If
certificates expire, the service collects data on the expiring certificates from the Microsoft CA database and sends reminder e mails to certificate managers and administrators. All actions of the service are recorded in the Windows Application Event Log.

 
 

SE-CD

true-Xtender CRL Management Service

The true-Xtender CRL Management Service is applied in connection with the monitoring of CRL distribution points and the distribution of revocation lists to different certificate revocation list (CRL) distribution points (CDPs) and the monitoring of CRL distribution points. The service monitors whether the configured CRL distribution points provide the current revocation lists. In case of failure, the CRL distribution service sends an e-mail to administrators and updates the Windows Application Event Log accordingly. The service supports different sources of CRLs and can distribute them to the CDPs over LDAP, file shares, or script calls.

 
 

SE-CP

true-Xtender CRL Publication Service

The true-Xtender CRL Publication Service publishes the certificate revocation list (CRL) immediately after the input of a so-called
revocation request on the Microsoft CA. Furthermore, a blacklist is published in a regular interval (e.g. once a day) even if no new entry exists on the revocation list.

By using the SE-CP, the regular publication of revocation lists is omitted whereby no unnecessary rereading of an online responder is required. The revocation list is only reread when the list is updated due to a new revocation request.

The SE-CP is installed as Windows Service and is registered as a so-called exit module on the Microsoft CA. The publication interval and other application specific parameters can be configured in an XML file.

 

Keyon Revocation Provider

RP-CL

Keyon Caching Resync Revocation Provider

The check against revocation takes place in the Windows CryptoAPI through installable revocation providers, whereby Microsoft provides a revocation provider by default that can detect the revocation details via OCSP and revocation lists.

When using CRLs through the standard Microsoft revocation provider, it cannot be assumed that the revocation of a certificate can be detected in a timely manner because the CRLs and the OCSP responses are cached due to various parameters.

The Keyon revocation provider make sure that CRLs and OCSP responses from a CA are reloaded after a configurable time instead of being read from the cache.

Example of us:
When issuing temporary smart cards, the active smart card is suspended and temporarily listed on the CRL. In order for an employee to use his old smart card as soon as possible after returning the temporary smart card, the domain controller must use the latest CRL after the suspension.

The Keyon Caching Resync Revocation Provider is primarily used on domain controllers and Windows Servers where user certificates are checked against revocation.

 
 

RP-DC

Keyon Fallback and BCM Revocation Provider

By using the Keyon Fallback and BCM Revocation Provider, a Windows login using a smart card can be guaranteed even after a longer total failure of a PKI.

If a domain controller can’t check its own certificate at the start with a valid CRL or OCSP request, it then deactivates the feature for the smart card logon.

If none of the installed revocation providers can retrieve valid revocation details, then the Keyon Fallback and BCM Revocation Provider return the status “not revoked” for the domain controller certificate. The Keyon Fallback and BCM Revocation Provider is primarily used on domain controllers and Windows clients.

 

Keyon Credential Provider

CP

The Keyon Credential Provider allows the enforcement of the smart card logon without randomizing the Active Directory (AD) password of an employee. This allows compatibility with applications that check user names and passwords against AD and do not support Kerberos or certificate-based authentication.

The Keyon Credential Provider allows the username /password logon only for local administrators and for members of defined AD groups. In addition, so-called “deny password logon” AD groups can be defined, which overrides AD groups for which smart card logon is not enforced.

If the Keyon Credential Provider cannot determine whether a user is local admin or member of a defined AD group, the login with username and password is not possible. The Keyon Credential Provider caches group memberships of users to support the offline logon scenario.

A second smart card credential provider wrapper allows to change the AD password, if required by policy, when the user tries to login with a smart card. This guarantees that password change policies can be enforced even for users that are only allowed to interactively login with a smart card.

The Keyon Credential Provider supports Windows 7 and Windows 10. The configuration can be set by group policies.

 

Keyon Certificate Propagator

CE-PR

 The Microsoft certificate propagation service (CertPropSvc) imports the certificates into the user certificate store when the smart card is inserted and during the logon/unlock process. 

The Microsoft certificate propagation service (CertPropSvc) runs as a standard for all smart cards available on a system, which means that the certificates of other users are also propagated into the certificate store of the currently logged in user. These certificates are then displayed in selection dialogs.

Keyon Certificate Propagator Service functionality

The Keyon Certificate Propagator replaces the Microsoft certificate propagation service (CertPropSvc) and imports only the certificates of the currently logged in user, which are to be imported according to the configuration. 

The Keyon Certificate Propagator has an architecture that allows to extend the functionality at various events (smart card plugged, smart card removed) through plug-ins in the form of DLLs. This architecture allow applications or scripts to be started on an event such as the pending certificate renewal.

When the CE-PR is started, the following actions are performed:

  • The certificates of all smart cards currently available on the system are identified.
  • Smart card certificates that have been assigned to a smart card CSP / KSP but are not found on any of the smart cards used are deleted from the user’s certificate store.

While the application is running, the following actions are performed when inserting a smart card:

  • The certificates on the inserted smart card are identified.
  • Smart card certificates that have the same user ID but do not exist on any of the inserted smart cards are deleted from the user’s certificate store.

While the application is running, the following actions are performed when a smart card is removed:

  • If the certificates on the remote smart card belong to the logged in Windows user (UPN in authentication certificate = UPN of the Windows user), no actions are taken and no certificates are deleted. 
  • If the certificates on the remote smart card do not belong to the logged in Windows user, then the certificates are deleted from the user’s certificate store.

The application has no user interface and runs invisibly in the background. Only certificates with a KSP / CSP for smart cards are considered. Soft tokens are not handled.

 

 
 
 

Success stories Microsoft PKI

Microsoft PKI and true-Xtender have already been successfully implemented in various industries. The companies benefit from automated certificate processes and well-ordered management.

Unleash Microsoft PKI

Die Microsoft PKI bildet mit den true-Xtender Erweiterungen von Keyon eine umfassende Lösung für die Ausgabe und Verwaltung von X.509 Zertifikaten. Wir unterstützen Sie in allen Phasen der organisatorischen und technischen Integration der Microsoft PKI.

Microsoft PKI

Auf Basis der Microsoft PKI werden X.509 Zertifikate für umfassende Identity- und Access Lösungen ausgegeben und verwaltet.

  • Windows Smartcard Logon
  • Zertifikatsbasierte Authentisierung von mobilen Geräten (SCEP, PKCS#12)
  • Zertifikatsbasierte 802.1X Authentifizierung (EAP-TLS)
  • Zertifikatsbasierte Authentifizierung gegenüber Systemen und Web-Applikationen / Services
  • Elektronisches Signieren von Dokumenten, Applikationen und Macros

 
 
 

true-Xtender Suite für Microsoft PKI

Die true-Xtender Suite von Keyon ist eine umfassende Sammlung von Modulen, welche die Eigenschaften der Microsoft PKI erweitern. Alle Module werden auf Windows 2012 (R2) und 2016 unterstützt und bieten volle Enterprise Funktionalität. Eine Schemaerweiterung ist nicht notwendig.

  • Webbasierte, mandantenfähige Registrierungsstellen- und Service-APIs
  • Zertifikatsverwaltung von Drittanbietern und automatische Registrierung für öffentliche CAs
  • Durchsetzung von Richtlinien und Kontrolle des gesamten Zertifikatsmanagements
 
 

true-Xtender Policy Module

TX-PMSA

Das true-Xtender Policy Module erweitert die Eigenschaften der Microsoft PKI und ermöglicht eine regelbasierte Ausgabe und Verwaltung von X.509 Zertifikaten. Der Zertifikatsinhalt kann umfangreich erweitert oder verändert werden. Folgend ein paar Beispiele:

  • Die einzelnen Komponenten des Subject Distinguished Names (DN) können fest definiert, aus dem ursprünglichen Zertifikatsantrag übernommen oder nach einer beliebigen Regel verändert oder erweitert werden.
  • X.509 Zertifikatserweiterungen können beliebig entfernt, angepasst, erweitert oder hinzugefügt werden. Mit dem true-Xtender Policy Modul von Keyon können auch hostspezifische Erweiterungen wie beispielsweise die RACF ID verwaltet werden.
  • Zusätzliche Benutzer-, oder Systemattribute können aus einem Verzeichnis oder aus einer Datenbank ausgelesen und in das Zertifikat integriert werden.
 

true-Xtender Registration Authority

RA-WA

true-Xtender Registration Authority Web Application 

Die true-Xtender Registration Authority Web Application ermöglicht die nahtlose Integration der Zertifikatsverwaltung in die unternehmensinternen Prozesse und bietet neben einem browserbasierten GUI eine Webservice Schnittstelle für automatisierte Prozesse. 

Über Metadaten, welche zusätzlich in der Datenbank der RA gespeichert werden, können unternehmensspezifische Verwaltungsprozesse umgesetzt werden. Beispielsweise können Zertifikate Applikationen, Personen oder Gruppen zugeordnet werden, die im Falle eines Erneuerungsprozesses, einer Revokation oder anderen Aktivitäten, benachrichtigt werden.

Ein umfangreiches Audit-Log speichert jede Aktivität der Antragsteller und der Administratoren. Die Berechtigungen für die einzelnen Funktionen werden über Active Directory-Gruppen gesteuert. Die RA speichert alle Daten in einer Microsoft SQL-Datenbank. Auswertungen und Berichte können mit Microsoft SQL Server Reporting Services (SSRS) oder mit Microsoft Power BI erstellt werden. Die RA unterstützt unterschiedliche Workflows, die für jeden Zertifikatstyp definiert werden können.

Die true-Xtender Registration Authority Web Application bietet die folgenden Funktionen:

  • Einfache und Erweiterte Suche nach Zertifikaten (Unterstützung mehrerer CAs)
  • Ausstellen von Zertifikaten auf der Basis von PKCS#10-Dateien
  • Ausstellen von Schlüsselpaaren und Zertifikaten als PKCS#12-Dateien
  • Ausstellen von Schlüsselpaaren und Zertifikaten, welche direkt auf Hardwaretoken (HSM, Smartcard, etc.) gespeichert werden. Die Schlüsselgenerierung findet dabei auf den Hardwaretoken statt.
  • Ausliefern von bereits ausgestellten Zertifikaten über unterschiedliche Kanäle (E-Mail, Web-basierter Download)
  • Sicherheitskritische Funktionen können über ein Workflow Management (4-Augen-Prinzip) abgebildet werden
  • Wiederrufen (Revozieren) von Zertifikaten
  • Erneuern von Zertifikaten

Die true-Xtender Registration Authority Web Application basiert auf Microsoft IIS.

IT-Securty & Software Engineering
IT-Securty & Software Engineering
Microsoft PKI, SafeNet HSM, true-Sign, DLP, IRM, AD-RMS
IT-Securty & Software Engineering
IT-Securty & Software Engineering
Microsoft PKI, SafeNet HSM, true-Sign, DLP, IRM, AD-RMS
IT-Securty & Software Engineering
IT-Securty & Software Engineering
Microsoft PKI, SafeNet HSM, true-Sign, DLP, IRM, AD-RMS
IT-Securty & Software Engineering
IT-Securty & Software Engineering
Microsoft PKI, SafeNet HSM, true-Sign, DLP, IRM, AD-RMS
 
 
IT-Securty & Software Engineering
Microsoft PKI, SafeNet HSM, true-Sign, DLP, IRM, AD-RMS
1
IT-Securty & Software Engineering
Microsoft PKI, SafeNet HSM, true-Sign, DLP, IRM, AD-RMS
2
IT-Securty & Software Engineering
Microsoft PKI, SafeNet HSM, true-Sign, DLP, IRM, AD-RMS
3
IT-Securty & Software Engineering
Microsoft PKI, SafeNet HSM, true-Sign, DLP, IRM, AD-RMS
4
 
 
 
 

RA-ACME+

true-Xtender Registration Authority ACME Service

Der true-Xtender Registration Authority ACME Service stellt das ACME-Protokoll als standardisierte Schnittstelle für die automatisierte Verwaltung von Zertifikaten zur Verfügung.

Der RA-ACME Service ist in die RA-Datenbank und deren Benutzeroberfläche integriert. Der RA-ACME Service ist als Proxy-Server-Architektur umgesetzt, welche dadurch den Einsatz von ACME in separaten Netzwerkzonen ermöglicht. Mehrere ACME Adapter fungieren dabei als Proxy zwischen den Enrollment Clients und der RA, bzw. dem RA-ACME Service. Die Validierung der Domains wird von den ACME Adaptern durchgeführt. Die Adapter unterstützen das ACMEv2-Protokoll mit HTTP-Validierung (gemäss RFC 8555). Verschiedene Zertifikatsprofile werden für unterschiedliche Domains unterstützt indem unterschiedliche Endpunkte in der Service-URL der Adapter verwendet werden. Die Adapter sind für Windows- und Linux-Systemen erhältlich.

 
 

SE-CE+

true-Xtender Registration Authority Reminder Services Add-on

Das true-Xtender Registration Authority Reminder Services Add-on dient zur Überwachung und Protokollierung ablaufender Zertifikate vor deren Ablauf. Es können verschiedene Reminder erstellt werden, um den Ablauf in verschiedenen Intervallen zu überwachen, Benachrichtigungs-E-Mails an Zertifikatsempfänger zu senden und ablaufende Zertifikate im Windows Application Event Log zu protokollieren. Kundenspezifische Monitoring-Systeme können integriert werden, um die erzeugten Windows Application Event Log-Einträge zu überwachen und weiter zu verarbeiten.

 
 

RA-WCA+

true-Xtender Registration Authority Web CA Add-on

Mit dem true-Xtender Registration Authority Web CA Add-on können alle Zertifikatsanträge der Microsoft CA verwaltet und Zertifikate gesperrt werden, insbesondere Zertifikate welche mit dem Autoenrollment Mechanismus der Microsoft CA ausgestellt wurden. Analog zur true-Xtender RA-WA können mit dem auf AD-Gruppenmitgliedschaften basierenden Rollenkonzept verschiedene Berechtigungen zur Verwaltung und Sperrung der Zertifikate vergeben werden.

 
 

RA-WS+

true-Xtender Registration Authority Web Service Add-on

Das Registration Authority Web Service Add-on bietet umfangreiche REST und / oder SOAP Schnittstellen für die automatisierte Ausgabe und Verwaltung von X.509 Zertifikaten. Ein Enrollment-Client authentisiert sich gegenüber dem Webservice und erhält aufgrund der entsprechenden AD Gruppenmitgliedschaft und dem Rollenkonzept die entsprechenden Berechtigungen für die einzelnen Funktionen:

  • Ausstellen von Zertifikaten basierend auf PKCS#10-Dateien
  • Ausstellen von Schlüsselpaaren und Zertifikaten als PKCS#12-Dateien
  • Beziehen von ausgestellten Zertifikaten
  • Wiederrufen (Revozieren) von Zertifikaten
  • Erneuern von Zertifikaten
 
 
 

RA-DCOM+

true-Xtender Registration Authority DCOM Add-on

Das true-Xtender Registration Authority DCOM Add-on ermöglicht als DCOM Schnittstelle das Forest-übergreifende Ausstellen und Sperren von Zertifikaten. So wird beispielsweise in einer DMZ anstelle einer separaten Microsoft CA nur das RA-DCOM Add-on benötigt, um Zertifikate von der Corporate CA ausstellen zu können. Zudem kann das Modul auch als Proxy für eine Microsoft CA verwendet werden, um den direkten Zugriff auf die CA für alle Client-Systeme zu verhindern.

 
 

CM-3RD+

true-Xtender Third-Party Certificate Manager Add-on

Das true-Xtender Third Party Certificate Manager Add-on dient zur Überwachung von Drittanbieter-Zertifikaten. Es können mehrere Benachrichtigungsdienste eingerichtet werden, die einen Benutzer informieren, sobald ein Zertifikat das Ende seiner Lebensdauer erreicht. Die zu überwachenden Zertifikate werden über das Web-GUI oder die Webservice Schnittstelle in die RA-Datenbank importiert. Mit dem Upload können zusätzliche Metadaten bereitgestellt werden, die dann bei den Benachrichtigungen vor dem Ablauf der Zertifikate verwendet werden können. Das Rollenkonzept des true-Xtender Third Party Certificate Manager Add-ons basiert auf Active Directory Benutzergruppen.

 
 

TX-AEP

true-Xtender AutoEnroll PKI Proxy

Der true-Xtender AutoEnroll PKI Proxy wird als Proxy zwischen true-Xtender RA und der externen Schnittstelle einer öffentlichen CA verwendet. Alle Zertifikate werden von der true-Xtender RA-WA verwaltet und überwacht. Dies ermöglicht ein einheitliches Cockpit für alle internen und öffentlichen Zertifikate.

 

true-Xtender AutoEnroll PKI

TX-AE

true-Xtender AutoEnroll PKI verbindet die Microsoft Autoenrollment Funktion mit einem öffentlichen PKI Service. Dadurch ergibt sich die Möglichkeit, firmeninterne Zertifikate gewohnt automatisiert auszugeben und zu verwalten, ohne dafür eine eigene Microsoft CA zu betreiben.

Mit dem true-Xtender AutoEnroll PKI kann zudem die Autoenrollment Funktion der Microsoft PKI entscheidend erweitert werden. 

  • Autoenrollment von öffentlichen Zertifikaten. Jede öffentliche CA die eine Webservice Schnittstelle anbietet kann integriert werden.
  • Autoenrollment basierte Erneuerung von Zertifikaten im Falle einer Änderung von Benutzer- oder Serverattributen.
  • Flexibles Lifecycle-Management von Benutzer- und Serverzertifikaten.

Ein umfassendes und intuitives Web-GUI sowie umfangreiche Reporting Services bilden das Cockpit für alle im Unternehmen verwendeten Zertifikate.

Autoenrollment Reports
 

true-Xtender PKI Services

SE-CE-AR

true-Xtender Auto-Revocation Service

Der true-Xtender Auto-Revocation Service ist das Pendant zu der von Microsoft angebotenen Autoenrollment Funktion. Der true-Xtender Auto-Revocation Service revoziert ein Zertifikat, sobald dessen zugeordnetes Computer- oder Benutzerobjekt im AD entfernt wird. Er widerruft auch doppelte Zertifikate, d.h. Zertifikate desselben Typs, die für denselben Subject DN ausgestellt wurden. Der Schwellenwert der Anzahl zu revozierender Zertifikate kann konfiguriert werden, um einen unbeabsichtigten Wiederruf bei AD-Strukturänderungen zu verhindern (z.B. Verschieben von Benutzern in eine andere Organisationseinheit (OU)). Alle Aktionen des Services werden im Windows Application Event Log aufgezeichnet.

true-Xtender Standalone Certificate Expiration Service

Der true-Xtender Standalone Certificate Expiration Service prüft periodisch, ob Zertifikate innerhalb einer bestimmten Zeit ablaufen. Falls Zertifikate ablaufen, sammelt der Service die Daten zu den ablaufenden Zertifikaten aus der Microsoft CA Datenbank und verschickt Erinnerungsemails an Zertifikatsverantwortliche oder Administratoren. Alle Aktionen des Services werden im Windows Application Event Log aufgezeichnet.

 
 

SE-CD

true-Xtender CRL Management Service

Der true-Xtender CRL Management Service wird im Zusammenhang mit der Überwachung von CRL Distribution Points und der Verteilung von Sperrlisten an unterschiedliche CRL Distribution Points (CDPs) eingesetzt. Der Service überwacht, ob die konfigurierten CRL Distribution Points die jeweils aktuellen Sperrlisten bereitstellen. Im Fehlerfall versendet der CRL Distribution Service eine E-Mail an Administratoren und aktualisiert entsprechend den Windows Application Event Log. Der Service unterstützt unterschiedliche Quellen von CRLs und kann diese über LDAP, File Shares oder Script-Aufruf an die CDPs verteilen.

 
 

SE-CP

true-Xtender CRL Publication Service

Der true-Xtender CRL Publication Service publiziert die Zertifikatsperrliste (CRL) unmittelbar nach dem Eingang eines sogenannten Revokations-Antrages auf der Microsoft CA. Im Weiteren wird in einem regelmässigen Intervall (z.B. einmal täglich) eine Sperrliste publiziert, auch wenn kein neuer Sperreintrag vorhanden ist.

Durch die Verwendung des true-Xtender CRL Publication Services entfällt die regelmässige Publikation der Sperrlisten wodurch diese beispielsweise vom einem Online-Responder nicht unnötig neu eingelesen werden müssen. Eine Sperrliste wird nur dann neu eingelesen, wenn diese aufgrund eines neuen Sperreintrages aktualisiert wurde.

Der true-Xtender CRL Publication Service wird als Windows-Service installiert und als sogenanntes Exit-Modul auf der Microsoft CA registriert. Die Publizierungsintervalle sowie weitere Applikationsspezifische Parameter können in einer XML-Datei konfiguriert werden.

 

Keyon Revocation Provider

RP-CL

Keyon Caching Resync Revocation Provider

Die Prüfung gegen Widerruf erfolgt im Windows CryptoAPI über installierbare Revocation Provider, wobei Microsoft Standardmässig einen Revocation Provider zur Verfügung stellt, der die Sperrinformationen über OCSP und Sperrlisten ermitteln kann. 

Bei der Verwendung von Sperrlisten durch den Standard Microsoft Revocation Provider kann jedoch nicht davon ausgegangen werden, dass eine Sperrung eines Zertifikats zeitnah festgestellt werden kann, da die Sperrlisten und auch OCSP Antworten aufgrund verschiedener Parameter lokal gecached werden.

Die Keyon Revocation Provider stellen sicher, dass CRLs und OCSP Antworten einer CA nach einer konfigurierbaren Zeit neu geladen statt aus dem Cache gelesen werden.

Anwendungsbeispiel:
Bei der Ausstellung von temporären Smartcards wird die aktive Smartcard suspendiert und temporär auf der Sperrliste aufgeführt. Damit ein Mitarbeiter nach Rückgabe der temporären Smartcard seine alte Smartcard möglichst bald wiederverwenden kann, müssen die Domänencontroller nach Aufhebung der Suspendierung die aktuellste Sperrliste verwenden.

Der Keyon Caching Resync Revocation Provider wird hauptsächlich auf Domänencontrollern und Windows-Servern eingesetzt, wo Benutzerzertifikate gegen Widerruf geprüft werden.

 
 

RP-DC

Keyon Fallback and BCM Revocation Provider

Durch die Verwendung des Keyon Fallback and BCM Revocation Providers kann der Windows Logon mittels Smartcard auch bei einem längeren Totalausfall einer PKI garantiert werden. 

Kann ein Domänencontroller beim Start sein eigenes Zertifikat nicht mittels einer gültigen Sperrliste oder OCSP Anfrage überprüfen, dann deaktiviert er die Funktion für den Smartcard Logon. 

Kann keiner der installierten Revocation Provider bei einem Smartcard Logon Event das Zertifikat des Clients überprüfen, liefert der Keyon Fallback and BCM Revocation Provider den Status ,,nicht gesperrt" zurück und erstellt einen Eintrag im Eventlog des Domänencontrollers.

Der Keyon Fallback and BCM Revocation Provider wird hauptsächlich auf Domänencontrollern und Windows-Servern eingesetzt, wo Benutzerzerti-fikate gegen Widerruf geprüft werden.

 

Keyon Credential Provider

CP

Der Keyon Credential Provider ermöglicht die Forcierung des Smartcard Logons, ohne dass das AD Passwort eines Mitarbeiters randomisiert wird. Dies ermöglicht die Kompatibilität mit Anwendungen, die Benutzernamen und Kennwörter anhand von AD prüfen und nicht Kerberos oder zertifikatsbasierte Authentifizierung unterstützen.

Der Keyon CP erlaubt die Anmeldung mit Benutzernamen und Passwörtern nur für lokale Administratoren und für Mitglieder von definierten AD Gruppen. Zusätzlich können so genannte "Deny Password Logon" AD Gruppen definiert werden, welche die AD Gruppen überschreiben, für die die Smartcard-Anmeldung nicht erzwungen wird.

Wenn der Keyon CP nicht feststellen kann, ob ein Benutzer lokaler Admin oder Mitglied einer definierten AD Gruppe ist, ist die Anmeldung mit Benutzername und Passwort nicht möglich. Der Keyon CP speichert Gruppenmitgliedschaften von Benutzern im Cache, um das Offline-Anmeldeszenario zu unterstützen.

Ein zweiter Smartcard Credential Provider Wrapper ermöglicht das AD-Passwort zu ändern, falls die Richtlinien dies erfordern, wenn der Benutzer versucht sich mit einer Smartcard anzumelden. Dadurch wird sichergestellt, dass Passwortänderungsrichtlinien auch für Benutzer durchgesetzt werden können, die sich nur interaktiv mit einer Smartcard anmelden dürfen.

Der Keyon CP unterstützt Windows 7 und Windows 10. Die Konfiguration kann über Gruppenrichtlinien festgelegt werden.

 

Keyon Certificate Propagator

CE-PR

Der Microsoft Certificate Propagation Service (CertPropSvc) importiert die Zertifikate beim Einlegen der Smartcard und beim Anmelde- / Entsperrvorgang in den User Certificate Store.

Der Microsoft Certificate Propagation Service (CertPropSvc) läuft standardmäßig für alle auf einem System verfügbaren Smartcards, d.h. die Zertifikate anderer Benutzer werden auch in den Zertifikatsspeicher des aktuell angemeldeten Benutzers übertragen. Diese Zertifikate werden dann in Auswahldialogen angezeigt.

Keyon Certificate Propagator Service functionality

Der Keyon Certificate Propagator ersetzt den Microsoft Certificate Propagation Service (CertPropSvc) und importiert nur die Zertifikate des aktuell angemeldeten Benutzers, die entsprechend der Konfiguration importiert werden sollen.

Der Keyon CE-PR verfügt über eine Architektur, die es ermöglicht, die Funktionalität bei verschiedenen Ereignissen (Smartcard gesteckt, Smartcard entfernt) durch Plug-ins in Form von DLLs zu erweitern. Durch diese Architektur können Anwendungen oder Scripts bei einem Ereignis wie die anstehende Zertifikatserneuerung gestartet werden.

Beim Start des CE-PRs werden die folgenden Aktionen ausgeführt:

  • Die Zertifikate aller derzeit im System verfügbaren Smartcards werden ermittelt.
  • Die Smartcard-Zertifikate, die einem Smartcard-CSP / KSP zugeordnet wurden, sich aber auf keiner der eingesetzten Smartcards befinden, werden im Zertifikatsspeicher des Benutzers gelöscht.

Während die Anwendung ausgeführt wird, werden die folgenden Aktionen beim Einlegen einer Smartcard ausgeführt:

  • Die Zertifikate auf der eingelegten Smartcard werden ermittelt.
  • Die Smartcard-Zertifikate, die die gleiche Benutzer-ID haben, aber auf keiner der eingesetzten Smartcards vorhanden sind, werden im Zertifikatsspeicher des Benutzers gelöscht.

Während die Anwendung ausgeführt wird, werden die folgenden Aktionen beim Entfernen einer Smartcard ausgeführt:

  • Wenn die Zertifikate auf der Remote-Smartcard zu dem angemeldeten Windows-Benutzer gehören (UPN imAuthentifizierungszertifikat = UPN desWindows-Benutzers), werden keine Aktionendurchgeführt und keine Zertifikate gelöscht.
  • Wenn die Zertifikate auf der Remote-Smartcard nicht dem angemeldeten Windows-Benutzer gehören, werden die Zertifikate imZertifikatsspeicher des Benutzers gelöscht.

Die Anwendung hat keine Benutzeroberfläche und läuft unsichtbar im Hintergrund. Es werden nur Zertifikate mit einem KSP / CSP für Smartcards berücksichtigt. Soft-Token werden nicht behandelt.

 
 
 

 
 
 

Success Stories Microsoft PKI

Microsoft PKI und true-Xtender wurde bereits in diversen Branchen erfolgreich implementiert. Die Unternehmen profitieren von automatisierten Zertifikatsprozessen und einem übersitlichen Management.